Michael Amon

Contract talks begin again

Posted in Uncategorized by michaelamon on February 8, 2010

Contract negotiations start again today
Feb. 8, 2010

Local 406 leaders will meet with Newsday management today, Monday, to begin hashing out a new contract. The talks likely will begin in earnest Tuesday. At the table for Local 406’s editorial unit will be GCC President George Tedeschi, unit VP Zachary Dowdy, editorial steward Liisa May and former editorial VP Bruce Lambert, who helped organize the newsroom in the 70s and led the unit with a steady hand for many years.

In other news, you may have heard from Cindy Chin that we’re wearing blue on Tuesday show solidarity as the talks begin. It’s also important to wear buttons. If you don’t have one, see Zack or Liisa. I’ve run out but I’ll replenish my stock soon.

Everyone on Facebook should look up the Local 406 fan page I set up and friend it. I’ll be linking to this blog from the fan page to make it easier to see announcements.

Finally, I just want to note that this blog is unofficial. I felt it would be easier to post stuff quicker if I did this myself, without approval from the union’s executive board. Just an FYI.

Zack and Liisa are the best people to ask about negotiations but feel free to e-mail me and I’ll do my best to get back to you. mike.amon@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

